The Bald Barista – not as good as the hype!

I had read numerous times that The Bald Barista was one of the best cafes in Dublin.  On their website they claim to serve the best coffee in Ireland. I don’t know if it was just an off day, but my latte was average, there was nothing wrong with it but it certainly didn’t make it into my top 10.

Here is my breakdown of the latte… My latte was very stong and J’s latte was very weak, so there was no continuity to their coffee. The cup was way too full which made it impossible not to spill when you collect it from the counter. There was no thick top to the latte, it was all one texture. Lastly, I didn’t really like the taste!

In addition to the average coffee I didn’t really like the interior of the cafe, I presume it’s trying to be very relaxed with big sofas and 90’s vibe, but it ended up feeling a bit too affected and an excuse for shabbiness. On top of that you need to ask at the counter for a key to the toilet which really pissed J off!

I wouldn’t go back there as I have had so many great coffees in Dublin where the baristas have always taken such care over every coffee served.

Mine was the strong latte.

Mine was the strong latte.

P1090152

Interior of The Bald Barista.

Interior of The Bald Barista.

If you liked this post please leave us a little message...

