A most peculiar Afternoon Tea @ The Westin Hotel

As my birthday treat J took me to the Westin Hotel to try their afternoon tea, but this was no normal afternoon tea. The Westin do a twist on traditional afternoon tea with what they call their ‘Peculiar Afternoon Tea’. So what makes it peculiar? Well, firstly instead of a pot of tea you are starved a pot of Victorian mojito cocktail made with Hendrix gin, mint, lime and freshly pressed apple juice, which you drink in a traditional tea cup and saucer, you even use the strainer to catch the bits of mint in the cocktail. The drink itself was delicious, it was so refreshing and fruity and did not feel too summery in December.

DSC_0352l went with the Tranditional Afternoon Tea with the understanding that as it was my birthday I would be able to try anything from J’s tea, so really I had the best of both. The tea was served in The Atrium which was a lovely space to relax after the bustle of Grafton Street in the lead up to Christmas. The staff were very friendly and the seating was seriously comfortable. I really liked the fact that all the tables were really spread apart so it didn’t feel crowded at all.

As we sat down we were immediately brought iced water and our tea soon followed. It was so beautifully presented and I really did feel that the ‘peculiar tea’ was something very different and quite special. J and I had great fun figuring out what everything was and discussing what we liked and didn’t like.

The Traditional Afternoon Tea:

DSC_0357A Most Peculiar Afternoon Tea:

DSC_0360I tucked into my savoury treats first and my sandwiches were very good, especially the spiced Irish beef with tomato and horseradish on wholemeal bread. My buttermilk fruit scone was excellent, and the jam with large bits of fresh fruit was especially nice. The mini red velvet cupcake was very cute and I really enjoyed the lemon and poppy sponge loaf! I traded my Irish whisky cream, chocolate and praline cup and my white chocolate and strawberry tart for two of J’s treats.

P1140113 P1140115 P1140117J looked delighted with his stacked slates of sweet and savory treats. Instead of sandwiches he had Confit of pork cheek, stilton and honey aioli, a Oak smocked salmon, caviar, cream cheese blini, Spiced roast beef, spinach, red onion and horseradish involtine. He swapped two savouries with me (because he is a nice guy!) which were Black olive, tomato tepenade and goats cheese dipper and a prawn cocktail filled charcoal cone. Some other highlights from the peculiar tea were the Popcorn panna cotta with toffee popcorn crumble and Popping vanilla marshmellows. J also really enjoyed the Tarragon cookie!

P1140118 P1140119 P1140120I had a brilliant birthday relaxing in The Westin for a few hours eating these wonderful creations. I highly recommend trying either of these tea’s and I think it’s a must-do in Dublin!

P1140122Website: http://www.thewestindublin.com

Twitter: @TheWestin Dublin

2 thoughts on “A most peculiar Afternoon Tea @ The Westin Hotel

If you liked this post please leave us a little message...

