Monday Moussaka Madness!

I spent Monday night cooking a massive moussaka after getting all the ingredients from Fallon & Byrne which is the best food shop I have ever had the pleasure of shopping in! I think it is supposed to take about an hour and a half but it took close to 4 hours all in. As I had some serious time on my hands waiting for the different elements to cook I thought I would document it…

I have to practice my moussaka skills as it’s J’s favourite and J’s mum makes the most delicious moussaka I’ve ever tasted!! This one turned out nicely as the béchamel had a good kick of nutmeg and the meat had just the right amount of cinnamon. The only real decision I struggled with was to make the béchamel with eggs to make it have more of a soufflé texture or to do it without and get less of a thick top of sauce, I went for without .

Let me know if you have any recommendations….

m11 m10 m9

m8 m7 m6 m5 m4 m3

DSC_0434 m2 m1

One thought on “Monday Moussaka Madness!

If you liked this post please leave us a little message...

