A coffee experience at Chatei Hatou in Shibuya – Tokyo

Chatei Hatou is a traditional japanese kissaten (coffee house) in Shibuya. Tokyo is littered with coffee chains, some American and some Japanese; you cannot walk 300m without finding one. But I have zero interest in those places and instead prefer to get my coffee from independent coffee establishments, whether new or old. This one was recommended by a Tokyo blogger and she claimed that it might be Tokyo’s best coffee, so I had to try it out asap! 

Thankfully it is easy to find as it has a distinctive black and white entrance on street level. There is a calm atmosphere inside and it is nearly full at 4pm in the afternoon. We sit at the bar so we can watch our coffee be brewed up close.DSC02736 DSC02735 DSC02734There is quite a detailed spectacle that happens after you order and I suggest you go there and whiteness it for yourself instead of my describing it to you. Let’s just say that it’s the most fun I’ve had watching coffee be made. Our barrista spoke a little english and we were able to ask him where the beans were from and he told us that they were from many different countries and he mixed the beans according to what type of coffee he decides to make for the customer. Not only that but he also selects one of the dozens of individual cups and saucers behind the bar that he thinks you might like and ‘suit’ your personality. J even managed to chat with him in broken Japanese about Liverpool FC as the barrista was a supporter too!

DSC02726 DSC02732Well I was very happy with my pretty cup and the coffee was very good too. However, I would go there for the experience of the coffee making process and the atmosphere over the quality of the coffee. I have been to a few kissatens now and the coffee tends to be very expensive, but this place is the only one I have found that is worth paying the high price. So if you only go to one kissaten (traditional Japanese coffee house) go to this one! However, if really excellent coffee is what your searching for then this one is good but in my opinion it’s not the best! I will blog about my top coffee spots in Tokyo soon!

DSC02731 DSC02728 DSC02729 DSC02730

FYI – this kissaten is not ‘no smoking’ but I did not find it too much of a problem when I was there and I hate cigarette smoke!

Address: Higasiguti Futaba Bldg. 1F, 1-15-19 Shibuya, Shibuya-ku, Tokyo.

Hours: 11am – 11.30pm (according to sunny pages.jp)

Map

Screen Shot 2014-05-13 at 21.18.53

More blogs about Tokyo…

First impressions of Japan

J World in Sunshine City – East Ikebukuro. Anime Heaven for kids and adults!

Hanami Season in Tokyo – beautiful Cherry Blossom!

Amazing Soba near Ogawamachi Station – Soba and Tempura!

Or go straight to the Tokyo section of my blog for a full list of posts!

2 thoughts on “A coffee experience at Chatei Hatou in Shibuya – Tokyo

  1. is that a Guinness chalk board outside? i think of the tea experience than a coffee house culture in Japan. have you guys gone dancing in Le Baron yet? more snaps while about the town would be nice.

If you liked this post please leave us a little message...

